Year after year, Midway High School students continue to uphold their legacy of outstanding performance in standardized testing. This year’s group of National Merit and College Board honorees undoubtedly carries on this tradition of excellence with the highest number of recognitions—17 in total—since 2016. 

This record number includes four Semifinalists and five Commended Scholars in addition to three students receiving recognition through more than one program as both National Indigenous and National Hispanic Scholars. 

With a variety of interests ranging from robotics to linguistics, Midway’s National Merit students are already on the path to becoming world changers. This year’s group of honorees includes multiple symphony orchestra concertmasters, soccer and debate team captains, a NASA intern and a powerlifter, and is full of aspiring engineers, school teachers and doctors. In addition to earning academic recognition, they have founded clubs to address food insecurity and been awarded for countless hours spent giving back to their community through volunteer service. 

Out of the 1.5 million students who took the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, only the top 3.33% with the highest scores qualify for recognition in the 2023 National Merit Program. Five Midway students are among approximately two-thirds of these high scorers who receive recognition as Commended Scholars, and the remaining one-third are named Semifinalists.

Midway’s four Semifinalists, who represent some of the highest scores on the PSAT/NMSQT in the state of Texas, are among the top 1% of U.S. high school seniors qualified to earn this prestigious honor. Semifinalists advancing to the finalist level will be announced in February 2023.

College Board’s National Recognition Programs also identified an impressive nine Midway students as National Scholars who scored among the top 10% of students in Texas on the PSAT/NMSQT.

Congratulations to the following Midway High School students on their achievements:


Tristan Newman

Hunter Shi

Samuel Thaller

Thomas Warkentine

Commended Scholars: 

Sadie Hynan

Kailea Kuecker

Cara McMillan

Toby Meldrum

Josie Sim

National African American Scholars:

Megan Carroll

Ryann Evans

National Hispanic Scholars:

Alexa Barrera

Isabella Diaz

Andrea Mar

Savannah Ortiz

Hannah Padilla

Samuel Thaller 

Abner Feliciano Toledo

National Indigenous Scholars:

Samuel Thaller

Savannah Ortiz

Alexa Barrera


Katy Durham
Multimedia Specialist

Midway Independent School District254.761.5610 x1137 |
13885 Woodway Drive, Woodway, TX 76712