Annual Awards

The Greater Hewitt Chamber is honored to recognize outstanding businesses and individuals in our Chamber that consistently put forth an effort to better our community through leadership and integrity. Our annual awards are presented to winners each year at the Greater Hewitt Chamber Banquet.

Michael Wyatt, Wyatt Brothers Moving – Ambassador of the Year

A Greater Hewitt Chamber Ambassador serves as the face of the organization, increases member activity and displays a high degree of professionalism and community involvement. Michael has been a great support to the Chamber’s mission by volunteering throughout the year at major community events, recruiting members and supporting the office with several tasks. Michael also is a strong supporter of the chamber’s growth and retention efforts. We are thrilled to recognize Michael Wyatt as the 2019 Ambassador of the Year. Michael was nominated and is currently serving on the Board of Directors.

Finalists for Ambassador of the Year are determined by the number of points accumulated during the calendar year by attending meetings and events. Past winners include Donny Hunter (LegalShield), Glenda Ruiz (GTR Vacations) Jeff Nunes (Waddell & Reed), Glynn Beaty (Glynn Beaty Law Firm), Beth Kwasnica (Allen Samuels Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat), Carlena Lesso (Jack of All Trades), Merry Bruner (Individual Member), Debbie Grady (Insurance Network of Texas).

Landmark Chiropractic – New Member of the Year

Dr. Andrew Ostreich has been a great support to the Chamber and City by being actively involved in numerous community events throughout the year including Ribbon Cuttings, Membership Drive, Hewitt Public Library’s Dog Days Canine Event, National Night Out and the Creekside Spooktacular. The Chamber is honored to recognize Landmark Chiropractic as the 2019 New Member of the Year.

This award is chosen from among Chamber businesses or individuals who have been dues paying members less than one year. The recipient of this award has demonstrated support and enthusiasm for the Chamber and shows potential for future leadership within the Chamber. Past winners include Trish Menchu, Coldwell Banker Apex, D1 Sports Training, Orangetheory Fitness, WTX Media, Brian Black Coaching, Bite of Wisdom Magazine, Allstate Insurance Agency – Robert Humphrey, QuickSnaps Photo Booth and Allen Samuels Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat.

Tolea Smith – Volunteer of the Year Award 

The Volunteer of the Year Award is awarded to the individual who combines a strong vision for furthering the chamber’s mission with the leadership skills to organize fellow volunteers to see that vision to fruition.  This award is presented to the volunteer who has excelled in encouraging community members and Directors to be involvement in Chamber activities. The Chamber deeply appreciates Tolea’s efforts in moving the organization forward. Tolea is currently serving on the Board of Directors.

Past winners include Justin Anderson (Raising Cane’s, 2018), Mary Ellison (Cen-Tex Roof Systems, 2017) and Regina Martinez (Incommons Bank, 2017), Alee Walker (Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Hillcrest, 2016), Andrew Smith (Placements Unlimited, 2015) and Chris Watkins (Central National Bank, 2015), Cassie Thomas (Placements Unlimited, 2014), Pat Breen (Action Fire Pros, 2013), Scott Hedges (GENCO Federal Credit Union, 2012), Royce Berger (SCM Promos, 2011) and Donna Muhlman (Mr. Electric, 2010).

Superman Electric – Marketing Package Winner

The Greater Hewitt Chamber is proud to serve small businesses in our community. Beginning this January, the chamber launched a new initiative allowing members in business for less than 3 years and employing less than a staff to apply. The winner receives a $2,000 Marketing Package, customizable to fit their business needs, in order to boost small business efforts. The winner demonstrates a unique drive and determination in establishing business growth in the greater Hewitt area. Owner, Ruben Jacobo, is currently serving as an Ambassador. Pictured with Ruben is GHC Board Member, Lori Robb, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Hillcrest.

Incommons Bank– Business of the Year

The Business of the Year demonstrates all-around support to the Chamber, its mission and the greater Hewitt community’s development. Incommons Bank has established a strong reputation of being community-minded by providing leadership on committees for Greater Hewitt Chamber community events and has consistently invested in the Chamber’s efforts over the past several years. Incommons Bank is active at the chamber’s annual Express Classic and presenter of Hewitt’s Halloween Spooktacular Bash each Halloween. The Chamber is proud to recognize Incommons Bank as our 2019 Business of the Year. Vice President, Regina Martinez, is currently serving on the Board of Directors. 

The committee uses a weighted rubric to help identify Business of the Year finalists based on financial support, volunteer support, and leadership positions filled by the company within the GHCC. The winner is selected from among this group of finalists. Past winners include HEB Woodway, Stanley Ford McGregor, Bush’s Chicken Hewitt, HEB – Woodway, Allen Samuels Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat, The National Banks of Central Texas, Baylor Scott & White Hillcrest Medical Center and Grande Communications.

Lydia Lopez, City Secretary of the Year

LYDIA LOPEZ, TRMC, CITY SECRETARY, HEWITT, was elected president of the Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc., at its annual meeting held in Galveston on October 27, 2016.
The Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc., is a statewide association with over 975 members. The Association operates the Texas Municipal Clerks Certification Program located at the University of North Texas, Denton. The Certification Program is recognized and endorsed by Section 22.074 of the Local Government Code, Vernon’s Annotated Civil Statutes. TMCA, Inc., publishes the Texas Municipal Election Law Manual, the Texas Municipal Law and Procedure Manual and the Texas Municipal Clerks Handbook.
The Association is dedicated to serving the demands of excellence in Texas’ local government and public problem solving. Its principal missions are to motivate Texas city clerks and city secretaries to become leaders in their fields of governance and to provide an educational program for the beginning and career city clerk and city secretary.


Thank you 2019 Awards Committee

Cassie Thomas, Lori Robb, Matthew Boudreaux and Gregg Dungan.